Asking & Seeking

DSC_0969

 

Asking, Seeking.

James 1:5 (NIV)
If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

Asking God is such a simple solution but sometimes we tend to forget. When we lack things, we think its okay to just be there wanting. But it’s not okay, that’s why James advised us to ask. God wants us to ask Him. Sometimes when we are full of pride, we are reluctant to ask because we feel that asking shows weakness. It’s best to ask. Just like children ask their fathers for things, we too can come before God and ask him for he is our Heavenly Father.

Matthew 7:7 (KJV)
Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:

We can’t expect God to just do things for us. God isn’t just going to answer things for us sometimes. He can’t if there isn’t anything to answer in the first place. We must ask God.

“And power is not just distributed in the church; it is given to people who ask, or have have asked. It is found by people who have sought for it”

-BDHM


Ask God for help. That’s one thing I personally sometimes forget to do, I find myself struggling sometimes and all I have to do is ask God to help me. Help me Lord!! Ask and help will come. Ask for wisdom, and wisdom will come.

Jeremiah 29:12 (NIV)
Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.

God will listen to us as we pray to him. God will always listen to us, so we can always ask him. BUT that doesn’t necessarily mean that he will respond. Wait what do you mean?

James 1:6-7 (NIV)
[6] But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. [7] That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.

So when we are asking God, are we trusting him? Are we believing in him? Are we asking with all our hearts? Are we seeking with all our hearts? God only responds when we turn to him with our hearts. Are we being serious? When  Lady Pastor Daniella was leading prayer a while ago, one thing she said which really stood out to me was that we must take God seriously. When we take God seriously, he will take us seriously. When we stick by him he will stick by us (2 Samuel 22:26 MSG). So are we seriously asking God with all our hearts?

Jeremiah 29:13-14 (MSG)
“When you come looking for me, you’ll find me. “Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed.”…

Wow I’ve never read this verse in the MSG version. “..and want it more than anything else..” This is actually deeper than I thought. I usually read it in NIV

Jeremiah 29:13-14 (NIV)
[12] You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. [14] I will be found by you,” declares The Lord…

This is deeper than just asking, mostly about seeking God. Personally, I think seeking God is more than asking God. Although, we can argue that seeking and asking go hand in hand. You can ask to see God and know more about God, so when you ask, you begin to seek for what you’ve asked for. Wow.

I’m truly learning. I must evaluate my life, what am I lacking? What is missing? I must ask God. Look at this verse (James 1:5) in context to verses 2 and 3, the wisdom needed here is the practical wisdom that will help us overcome trials and temptations. So that patience will make her work perfect. We need to be wise in order to develop persistence as we face trails and temptations of various kinds. And this wisdom, which we may lack, will come if we ask God for it. So that we can receive the crown of life on that day when we meet with Christ in heaven. The crown of life which comes when we’ve endured trails and temptations.

Bishop Richard said that we all go through CSD – Current Stage Delusion. This is the delusion that comes when we are at certain stages of life. So each stage of life that we go through, we face some kind of delusions and temptations which we must overcome. So for each stage we need wisdom. And we must ask God for it!

Let’s Pray: O Heavenly Father, thank you so much for your Word. Thank you so much that we can come before you and ask for wisdom. Thank you Lord that you listen when we call on your name. O God, please help us to trust in you and come before you with our requests and thanksgiving. Thank you that when we ask we can receive;  when we seek, we can find; and when we knock, the door shall be opened to us.  Finally, Lord please help us to believe in you and your word. in Jesus’ mighty name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

