Anointings: The Holy Spirit ‘Upon’ Me & ‘Within’ Me. 


There’s a difference between the anointing that is on your ministry and that which is upon your personal life. (Anointing simply means the Holy Spirit, the power of God.)

1 John 2:27 (KJV)

But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.

1 John 2:27 is the anointing in my personal life. That is the Holy Spirit within me. That’s the Holy Spirit that teaches me and shows me and guides me towards the Lord. He is the one who helps me to understand the scriptures. He’s the one who helps me to walk with God. If I follow Him, and allow him to lead me, and surrender and submit myself to Him, I will walk close to God. I will know God. Jesus would not say ‘I never knew you’ on that day [of judgement] if I follow the Holy Spirit.
That’s why Jesus sent Him. That’s why Jesus gave Him to us. That’s why God gave Jesus to us. God gave Jesus to us so that Jesus can give us the Holy Spirit so that we can be close to God the father. It is indirectly direct.

God the Father sent God the Son, who sent God the Holy Spirit to bring us close to God the father. 
That’s the anointing that’s within us.
So now, when we have close friends that are in the world, or worldly habits, or have a worldly mind, the Holy Spirit who is likened unto a dove, cannot land on our lives. The Holy Spirit that is within us is trapped and all these other things have drowned his voice in our lives. How then can we know God? That’s why Jesus will be able to say to us on that day ‘I never knew you’. (Matthew 7:21)
Having a carnal mind will block us from getting close to God because carnality is enmity against God.

Romans 8:7 (KJV)

Because the carnal mind is enmity against God: for it is not subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be.

The word ‘carnal’ comes from the Greek word ‘sarkikos’  which means ‘fleshly.’ A carnal person is someone who lives solely on natural things; they do things based on what they see and feel. They usually lack spiritual wisdom and understanding.

Being close to someone in the world and reaching out to someone in the world to preach the gospel to them are two very different things, though there may be a fine line between them.
If I want to be close to God and flourish with the anointing that is within me, I can’t be carnal and have carnal friends. But if I want to tell them about Jesus and preach the gospel I need the anointing that can come upon me. Separate. However, the anointing that is within me must flourish in order to bear the anointing that is upon me. They go hand in hand.
Benny Hinn gave the analogy of the anointing that is upon me as a basket, and the one within me as a pillar. If the pillar is weak the basket will fall.
Acts 1:8 is the anointing that comes *upon* you to do the work. That’s the ministry.

Acts 1:8 (KJV)

But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.

Let’s Pray: Heavenly Father, thank you for your word. Thank you that you’re teaching us more about the Holy Spirit. Thank you that when we seek you with all our hearts we can find you and find the hidden things in your word. Lord please forgive us for being carnal and not truly believing in your word. Please help us to be spiritual Christians and not carnal Christians. May we not block the Holy Spirit in our lives, and help us to receive the Holy Spirit that can fall upon us to do your work and your will. In Jesus’ Holy and anointed name I pray, amen. 

Leave a Reply

