Come As You Are 

13/09/16IMG_7942

Come As You Are

Mark 1:17-18 (KJV)

[17] And Jesus said unto them, Come ye after me, and I will make you to become fishers of men. [18] And straightway they forsook their nets, and followed him.

Here Jesus is speaking to Simon and his brother Andrew, but He is also speaking to you and I. Jesus is calling us all to come to him. All we have to do is come. (I won’t talk about the “…and I will make you to become fishers of men..” because that is another light to the verse).
Jesus wants us to come after him, to follow him because he is the way to God (John 14:6). He is the way to heaven. What stood out to me is that Simon and Andrew came after Jesus straightaway! They didn’t think that they needed first to ‘fix up their lives’ so that they may be ‘worthy’ so to say, to come after Jesus. They didn’t think that they weren’t ready to come to God. You don’t need to become who God wants you to become on your own. That’s why Jesus is there. Notice how Jesus said “..and I will make you to become fishers of men”
Jesus is the one who will fix you up into who God wants you to be. You don’t have to become ‘right with God’ on your own before you come to Christ. Christ will help you and make you to become ‘right with God’ by the Holy Spirit. It is through Him, Jesus Christ.

Romans 5:1 (KJV) Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ:

 

Romans 8:2 (KJV) For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death.

It’s all because of Jesus, that is why he is calling you today! It doesn’t matter how far off you think you are. It doesn’t matter how sinful you think you are! We are all sinners (Romans 3:23) we’ve all fallen short. Jesus came for us. We are sick patients and Jesus is the doctor who came to heal us and set us free (Mark 2:17). If you have a disease or an illness, you won’t wait until you get better before you come to the doctor would you? No! We need to come to Jesus now! We can’t get better without him. We will never get better without him.
When we come to Christ, we can come as we are. Jesus didn’t say to them “fix up your lives first then come after me” he just said come. Come as you are.

Matthew 11:28-29 (KJV)

[28] Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. [29] Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

We don’t need to sort out our lives, we don’t need to clean ourselves up because we will never be ready before we come to Jesus. Christ has done it for us. God said he will reason with us, all we have to do is come.

Isaiah 1:18 (KJV)

Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.

Mark 1:18 (KJV)

And straightway they forsook their nets, and followed him. 

Don’t let your problems or circumstances prevent you from coming to God. Leave your problems alone and come to Jesus Christ, he will help you to fix your problems. It’s harder to fix your problems without Jesus, let him help you.
In this life we will struggle. Even yet, in our Christianity we will have turbulences, all we have to do is come to Jesus, remember that he is there for us and he is the one who will help us by the Holy Spirit.
Just like the woman with the issue of blood, she knew that she had to come in her current state and once she touched Jesus, she knew she’d be healed! She came. She didn’t wait until her bleeding stopped then come to Jesus. (Read more: Mark 5:24-34)
We are all sinners, we don’t need to wait until we’ve paid for our sins (The wages of sin is death (Romans 6:23), that is, when you die you go to hell with your sins, that’s the payment for sin) because if we want to pay for our sins ourselves, it will be too late! So come now, come and receive Jesus Christ as your Lord and saviour, he has already paid the price for our sins, he’s the one who will clear our names from the paycheck of sin!
Or perhaps you’ve gone astray, perhaps you once came to Jesus but have backslidden. I’ve got good news for you! You can still come back to Jesus. Come to him in your sin, and he will clean you up, he will make you whole again. By the blood of Jesus you are free! Amen.
The beauty is that, whilst we were still in our sins, Jesus died for us (Romans 5:8). There’s no excuse therefore to not come to Christ as you are. Jesus died for each and every one of us even when we were still sinners, he didn’t say we need to get rid of our sins then he’ll die for us! He died so that our sins will be forgiven! Not the other way round! Thank God!
We need Jesus. We need him to make us whole, we need him to heal us and set us free!

 

Let’s Pray: Heavenly Father, thank you for your word. Thank you for sending Jesus Christ to die for my sins. Thank you that I can come to you just as I am. Lord, I come before you now, just as I am, and I pray and ask that you forgive me of my sins, and make me who you want me to be. I want to make you my Lord and saviour. I cannot fix my life on my own, I need Jesus Christ in my life to help me and bring me close to you. Thank you that I’m forgiven. I’m so excited to see what you have in store for me. Thank you Lord. In Jesus’ Name I Pray. Amen 

Hallelujah! May you continue to walk with Jesus Christ, and may He help you in every way. Remember, God cares about every area of your life, bring all that you have to him and he will help and guide you in every area.

One thought on “Come As You Are 

Leave a Reply

